My First Post

Yo class my name is Devon Sevy . I was born and raised in Montreal. I grew up living in Laval which is a small city just north of the Island of Montreal until the age of 12. It was then that my family decided to move to the West Island, which is essentially the west side of Montreal. For those of you who are not familiar with Montreal that well, I could describe the West Island as being a completely different city (it is not).  There is a different kind of mentality among the people who live in the West Island, its like they are sort of scared of the rest of the city and never go anywhere claiming it is way too far, the ironic thing is that most people who do live in the West Island have cars and drive and yet think everything is far. The West has a more laid back atmosphere and is mostly made up of houses and residential areas, great for going on extremely long bike rides, which I love doing.

20140712_152624

Most of the time I try creating anything I can think of. I constantly have ideas floating around in my head that I have to accomplish. Sometimes, I actually want to do so many things at once that I have to take a step back and regulate my thought processes.  The things I usually work on coincidentally require WordPress. I’m currently in the midst of building a couple of websites that require hours of input and attention.  I also enjoy writing stories and short screenplays, they are a great way to create any scenario I may come up with. Anything is possible when it comes to both creating websites and writing fiction, I think that is why I enjoy them.

My goal in this class, like most other classes I take, is to learn as much as I can from others. I would like to potentially come away with a lasting knowledge of the topics we are going to be discussing and dissecting.

My family has owned a store on St Laurent Boulevard since the 1970’s right in the heart of downtown Montreal.  As a child, I would often spend countless days and hours with my family in the store on that street and in that area.  I even go there today all the time and still spend hours there interacting with the people and the environment that is St Laurent Boulevard. I feel safely at home there. It is a place where anything can happen and where the unusual and unexpected usually take place. I have a weird connection with that street and how everything works I’ve learned so much by spending time on that street, I like to compare it to a carousel of knowledge that never stops spinning.

stlaurent

 

Faculty…

Hard

1. Make reading tons of information critical parts of courses.

2. Long classes.

3. Exams which test memory better that what we have actually learned.

4. Not realizing that skills and just naturally knowing a lot of things is more important than grades.

5. GPA

Easy

1. Easy interaction with other people.

2. The online resources that are available on the Concordia website.

3. Providing facilities that will help students achieve certain goals.

4. Allowing for students to just be themselves and explore endless possibilities.

5. Realizing that everyone is unique.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

