Blog Post 1: About Me

    1. Name, brief background and selfie
      My name is Zara Domingues, I am a second-generation Portuguese-Canadian born in Montreal. I am a second year undergraduate student in the Communications Studies department at Concordia University. The program offers to broaden our knowledge of human communication to better understand the world we live in. I really appreciate that this is accomplished through an interdisciplinary environment. Currently, I am enrolled within the sound II practicum course offered in the department.
      Screen shot 2011-09-28 at 4.25.00 PM
      I prefer to study the world around us through slow travel, immersing myself in the culture and engaging with its people. Apart from exploring our planet, my various interests include; intuitive energetics, feminism, organic farming/practices, photography, soundscapes/art, scriptwriting, people watching, humanitarianism, curating and the list goes on…
    2. What do you spend most of your time doing?
      I spend the majority of my time learning whether through academia or involving myself in activities of interest. I enjoy sleeping quite a bit as well!
    3. What is your goal for the class?
      My goal for this class is to learn about the ways that our bodies manipulate a space or co-produce a place depending on whom we are. I would like to sink my teeth into the ways in which we continue to re-produce ideology in terms of our bodies and the spaces we are consciously, if so, creating.
    4. What is one of your favorite spaces? Describe it. Why? How do you use your body to be in that space? What bodies are excluded from that space? Interrogate any of your immediate characteristics of that space (peaceful, belongs to me, historic, etc). Include a link/image/video/etc.
      To begin, I will say that my ‘favorite’ space is very dependent on my mood or space of time in my life but the airport has been a consistent favorite return. Although some airports are more unique than others, I do not have any particular favorite one. Each one has its own design for numerous reasons but still, they manage to carry similarities from lighting to walkways, washrooms to consumer stands to arrival and departure gates. However, it is not the physical space that attracts me as much as the internal space of an airport. The emotions shared and observed at an airport are beautiful. We can encounter the unease of certain travellers or excitement, the sadness of a goodbye, or the happiness of a return. The airport is a hub of stories and cultures being exchanged and explored. For anyone like me, who loves to observe and explore, the airport is bliss. Not to mention, airports are never empty or closed which makes you think ‘somewhere’ can be found whenever you may need. The magic of time and space experienced from airports is very unique.

      Ambient 1: Music for Airports (1978)
      “1/1” composed by Robert Wyatt and Rhett Davies with Brian Eno. Link found below:
      http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d81G9W8pEno

    5. What are the five things faculty do that make learning hard? & what are the five things faculty do that make it easy to learn?
      (+)
      1. The online resources and multiple databases available from Concordia’s Library is impressive and very useful.
      2. When a variety of options are available for assignments and projects. This way students can engage in and create work in a way they feel most comfortable.
      3. When consistent feedback is available from the teacher.
      4. When teachers offer a variety of mixed media to engage students differently.
      5. When a teacher provides full support, encouraging attitude and offers reliable contact information.
      (-)
      1. Assigned readings are often complex and lengthy which prevents true comprehension of concepts that are necessary to grasp the theory.
      2. Lack of clarity and detail on assignments that worth a large percentage of our grade(s)/ marking scheme seems unbalanced
      3. Lectures can be lengthy and dry without much variety offered considering each of us learns differently.
      4. The attitude is much too competitive which I find extremely unhealthy, humans create and work best together not apart.
      5. Expectations seem surreal at times considering the reality of students lives (work, multiple courses, health, personal lives etc.)
2 comments

    1. Thank you for your comments.

      Most importantly, thank you for these great finds, I had not heard of Marc Augé beforehand. I can understand his point of view considering he comes from a background of anthropology but I have a hard time visualizing and verbalizing any space as a ‘non-place’.

      In relation to both links you have shared, I would definitely lean more towards the postmodern view of a ‘third space’ simply because I like to re-imagine spaces in creative ways, in other words, I enjoy going beyond the space ‘as is’ and discovering the multiple functions a space can actually provide. However, the one term I can relate these two with that I have some basic knowledge of is called ‘liminal space’ which centers around the idea of an in between space. This is the way I like to envision and connect with the airport as a space.

      Link about Liminal Space: http://cyborganthropology.com/Liminal_Space

      Like

Leave a Reply

