Everyone Welcome!

“These ways we have to settle. Moving house. I hate packing: collecting myself up, pulling myself apart. Stripping the body of the house: the walls, the floors, the shelves. Then I arrive, an empty house. It looks like a shell. How I love unpacking. Taking things out, putting things around, arranging myself all over the walls. I move around, trying to distribute myself evenly around the rooms. I concentrate on the kitchen. The familiar smell of spices fills the air. I allow the cumin to spill, and then gather it up again. I feel flung back somewhere else. I am never sure where the smell of spices takes me, as it had followed me everywhere. Each smell that gathers returns me somewhere; I am not always sure where that somewhere is. Sometimes the return is welcome, sometimes not. Sometimes it is tears or laughter that makes me realize that I have been pulled to another place and another time. Such memories can involve a recognition of how one’s body already feels, coming after the event. The surprise when we find ourselves moved in this way or that. So we ask the question, later, and it often seems too late: what is it that has led me away from the present, to another place and another time? How is it that I have arrived here or there?”
Sara Ahmed


Welcome to Communication Analysis of Environment! If you are currently enrolled in this class, you should have received an invitation to contribute to this WordPress site. Look around using the navigation links at the top. You can find the readings for the class on the library’s course reserves website or by using the e-journals database system.

1st Blog Post (200-500 words – due 8pm before next class, 14 jan)

Please follow Blog Instructions and don’t forget to place in proper category or else I will not see/read it. 

    1. Name, brief background and selfie
    2. What do you spend most of your time doing?
    3. What is your goal for the class?
    4. What is one of your favorite spaces? Describe it. Why? How do you use your body to be in that space? What bodies are excluded from that space? Interrogate any of your immediate characteristics of that space (peaceful, belongs to me, historic, etc). Include a link/image/video/etc.
    5. What are the five things faculty do that make learning hard? & what are the five things faculty do that make it easy to learn?
Leave a Reply

